Class Opportunities …

I am in the process of renovating a house and I did not realize how long it would take until I was right in the middle of it.  There are many tasks that I don’t have any idea about, like installing a suspended ceiling, but there are also things that I have been able to like baseboards and door frames.  I have an understanding of measuring and cutting using a saw because of my high school shop class.  I went to school in a very small K-12 school and one of the specialized subjects that was offered was industrial arts along with home ec.  There were not many other ones offered but I took what was available and never thought much about it.  Now looking back on my experience in these classes I realize how many skills I have picked up that I use in everyday life.  I wonder how many other classes that I or anybody else in my school would have benefited from.

In school I was always quite certain that I would go on to some form of secondary schooling, but I know there are many people who don’t plan to.  I would not trade a single thing about growing up on my farm and going to my small school, except I wonder if some of my classmates would have benefited from more of a choice.  Being a small rural school with a small student body you cannot expect the school to be able to offer all the same classes that a city school could.  I wonder if there is a way to get around this so you could offer more opportunities for students who are interested.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

